Test Score Policy

Test "Optional" and "Flexible" for Summer and Fall 2021

Due to COVID-19 test cancellations, many Fall 2021 prospective students may not have had the ability to take an ACT or SAT test during the spring and summer of 2020. However, we recognize that many students are eager to apply to the University of Arkansas and be considered for admission early. To accommodate these requests and continue to comply with State of Arkansas' placement and reporting requirements, the University of Arkansas will implement "test optional" and "test flexible" alternatives for admission and placement purposes for Summer 2021 and Fall 2021.

Please note, applicants must submit ACT or SAT test scores by February 1, 2021, to be considered for most merit-based scholarships and fellowships. Admitted students must have ACT, SAT, or Next Generation Accuplacer scores on file by May 1, 2021, for placement and enrollment purposes during orientation. See Minimum Admission Requirements for full details regarding admission without test scores.

Due to the evolving nature of testing availability nationwide, the University of Arkansas will continue to monitor students’ ability to test, which may result in additional modifications to our use of standardized test scores for admissions.

The University of Arkansas Office of Admissions uses standardized test scores to make admission decisions for incoming students. ACT and SAT scores also play a role in decisions relating to scholarship awards, academic fellowship offers, eligibility for the New Arkansan Non-Resident Tuition Award, and admission to the Honors College. Test scores are also used for developmental course assessment and course placement, and for state reporting purposes.

ACT or SAT

Arkansas is considered an "ACT state," and the majority of our applicants submit ACT scores. However, we do not have a preference between the ACT and SAT. In fact, we often recommend that students attempt each test at least once and take either the ACT or SAT multiple times. The Office of Admissions does not require that students submit the essay component of either test.

Generally, throughout the admissions and scholarship process, all scores are expressed as ACT or as an ACT equivalent. See our ACT/SAT concordance chart for additional information.

2021 Test Dates

ACT Dates and Registration

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Saturday, October 10, 2020

Saturday, October 17, 2020

Saturday, October 24, 2020

Sunday, October 25, 2020

Saturday, December 12, 2020

Saturday, February 6, 2021

Saturday, April 17, 2021

Saturday, June 12, 2021

Saturday, July 17, 2021

SAT Dates and Registration

Saturday, August 29, 2020

Saturday, September 26, 2020

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Saturday, November 7, 2020

Saturday, December 5, 2020

Saturday, March 13, 2021

Saturday, May 8, 2021

Saturday, June 5, 2021

ACT on Campus (Residual)

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Friday, September 18, 2020

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Additional Dates will be Added

Next Generation Accuplacer

Various - check the Testing Services Accuplacer page. Online and in-person options available.

Submitting Your Test Scores

Submit your scores using our ACT code (0144) or SAT code (6866). Send your test scores directly from ACT or SAT. In some cases, we will also accept test scores from your high school transcript, paper score reports, or, as a last resort, screen prints of your online score report as long as your name appears in the image.

Superscoring

The University of Arkansas superscores the ACT and SAT for admission, scholarship consideration, and New Arkansan Non-Resident Tuition Award purposes. Superscoring allows us to combine a student's highest ACT or SAT section (or subtest) scores, regardless of test date. The super composite ACT score is calculated as the average of the best ACT English, Reading, Math, and Science subject scores.  Beginning in September 2020, students are encouraged to send us their ACT test scores using the Superscore reporting option.

Please note, superscores are not considered for fellowship eligibility or admission to the Honors College.

ACT on Campus

University of Arkansas applicants can also take the ACT on Campus exam. This is a residual ACT given on the U of A campus. Your score can only be used at the U of A and cannot be sent to other institutions.

Next-Generation Accuplacer Test

Admitted students who have been assessed developmental course placement or Fall 2021 applicants who have yet had the opportunity to take the ACT or SAT test, have the option to take the Next-Generation Accuplacer through Testing Services either in-person or online.